Calling all composers


Image

For those that have never read this series of blogs before I am researching what it is to be a composer in the 21st Century.  For those that have visited before I hope that this has become clear during the posts each week (although I know I sometimes go off at a tangent). 

This week is a call to composers of instrumental music to ask for some help with the final part of my research.  The why? who? what? how? and when? questions from your own personal experiences. 

Hopefully you can spare 15 minutes to look at the questions below and send some thoughts and comments back to me.  My aim is to collate these responses into a snapshot of what composition and a career as a composer of instrumental music has become at the start of this Century with some comparisons to the last century as well. 

This will become part of my thesis but I will also make the findings available on the blog to help aspiring composers and also confirm to those that are already working in the field that they are not alone.  Some common themes have started to become apparent from the conversations and e-mails I have already collected and your replies could add weight to these as well as establish other areas with similar attributes.  Thank you in advance – or in a more traditional way – in anticipation.

I would be grateful if you could consider the five questions below and, if appropriate, send me your reply by e-mail to music@prbp.co.uk

1. Name (optional but necessary if you agree to being quoted in the thesis)

2. Which composers do you admire?

3. Thinking about the instrumental music that you compose –

a) What influences (if any)?

b) Would you regard it as following in any traditions?  If so, which?

c) Would you put it within a certain genre?  If so, which one?

4. a)  Was the music written for a specific programme/event/commission or was music previously composed used in a new context?

b) Did you have a library of already-worked ideas to draw from?

5. I have always lived my life with music as a vocation and a passion, in a recent interview one performer/composer described it as spiritual, how do you see it?  

I appreciate you have many calls on your time but if you can reply, thank you again.

About derangeddrums

Composer, percussionist, musical director, teacher and educator. My music has been written for audiences in palaces and in the street. Music is my vocation and my passion and I hope you enjoy it too.
This entry was posted in Music Composition and Performance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

