Significant Birthdays?


Image

How the mind changes over the years, couldn’t wait to be 21, worried about being 30 or 40 but there were very few apparent transformations at these milestones.  50 was very different, I started to look at what I had achieved, almost began to catalogue it for future generations but fortunately other things diverted me from that direction.  Instead I started writing more music, music for me, music that I spent time over and revised and edited and eventually was happy with.

The reason for the new direction was explained very well in the Imagine documentary shown last week.  Ceramicist and writer Edmund De Waal was interviewed by Alan Yentob and when asked why it had taken this long to produce work for his first exhibition in America, I immediately empathised with the reply.  Edmund De Waal had a significant birthday looming, his 50th, and for the first time as an artist he revealed that he felt confident with the direction he was taking and the work he was producing. 

My significant 50th is long past but my fulfilment from composing has not been as evident since I was in my early twenties.  I am certain of the direction the music is taking and often delighted by the end result, long may this muse be with me.  It is a significant date for this blog as well, one year of regular writings each week.  I am off to celebrate.

About derangeddrums

Composer, percussionist, musical director, teacher and educator. My music has been written for audiences in palaces and in the street. Music is my vocation and my passion and I hope you enjoy it too.
This entry was posted in Music Composition and Performance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

