Career Planning


Image

The uncertainty of change is often a barrier to achieving maximum potential.

As a freelance musician at the start of my career this was not something I considered. The main focus was how to find enough work to survive and then obtain more work to be able to live. My career has been full of changes, and is still changing, and only now am I able to appreciate the benefits.

Very soon after I joined my previous employment I heard from a number of sources that five years in one post and then move was normal practice in the profession. This was my experience, five years lecturing and then a move to management but still in the same building. During this period there were other changes, especially in my own professional development and most notably researching towards a PhD.

The most recent change of career has meant moving from the place I have worked in and considered an ideal creative environment for the past eight years. During the packing I have made some exciting discoveries, many ‘just needing finishing touches’ compositions that had been forgotten or buried as the in-tray changed with the new job role. Listening to these works, some which are over ten years old, has helped me to evaluate my writing again. Some of the works still sound fresh and with a little final editing are ready for publication, others sound ‘of a time’ or period that I have passed through and will probably remain at the bottom of the pile.

A regular de-clutter should be written into all employment contracts. The valuable shelf space that was packed with important (but never required) information from the last move is now empty with the contents all recycled. The Legends recordings that I mentioned in the last blog have been dispatched to the band and we are back in touch with each other (over 25 years later in some cases). 

The changes have brought to light some music that could have been lost for many years; I will make it available in some form or other soon as I feel it has potential.

© P.R.Birkby 2014

About derangeddrums

Composer, percussionist, musical director, teacher and educator. My music has been written for audiences in palaces and in the street. Music is my vocation and my passion and I hope you enjoy it too.
This entry was posted in Music Composition and Performance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

