The Drum – history and promotion


Snare 

In 1995 I was commissioned to write music for percussion ensemble with narrator for the Rotherham Schools Percussion Ensemble. The ensemble had four up and coming performers who were destined to become professionals supported by other enthusiastic students. The result was The Drum, a through-composed work telling of the journey from iron ore to snare drum in approximately 10 minutes. 

One of the students from that time emailed earlier this month with a request for the score and parts so he could use it with his pupils at Hill House School in the new academic year. When I retrieved it from the shelf it looked dated and difficult to read in some places so new some typesetting was required. One day later, with many hours in front of the computer screen, it was reprinted and ready to go. 

I listened to the music again after a break of many years (I was at the first performance and remember how well it was received by audience and musicians alike) and am happy to say I still enjoyed it. This made the creative cogs turn again and I have recorded a short extract (the opening) to which I have added some images and you can watch the results on YouTube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26uk7VdoAhc

Ordering details are available at www.prbpnews.info and at £19.80p (inclusive of p&p) I feel it is competitively priced. Hopefully some other forgotten works will be requested in the near future and I can rediscover more music. 

© P.R.Birkby 2014

About derangeddrums

Composer, percussionist, musical director, teacher and educator. My music has been written for audiences in palaces and in the street. Music is my vocation and my passion and I hope you enjoy it too.
This entry was posted in Music Composition and Performance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

