Happy blogday


Xylosynth

The blogging journey started almost two years ago. At that time I could only see a desolate landscape of desert and mountains that had to be traversed and as to the light at the end of the tunnel? I had no idea where the entrance was.

I arbitrarily chose a one thousand word target for each blog and thank you to the readers that have criticised and commented as this has now been reduced to 500 words. Hopefully there is now less skirting around the issue(s) and a more direct approach, it could be more of a press release quality than the academic paper that was the first goal, and some sense of style has developed over the century of blogs.

My writing of words, from starting as a chore, has become fascinating. I have overcome the fear of “getting it wrong” (I was always unsure of what was being measured) but you, the readers, have helped along the way. Words are now very interesting – so much so that I often write more poetry than prose these days.

And it is not only words. During my time as a blogger I have also composed over 60 new pieces of music. Some have been put together and performed as Deranged Drums on Digital Vistas, some have been entered into competitions – Fleeting Glance, Splitscreen Sinfonietta and Only the dead have seen the end of war, some published – 12 Solos for Xylophone, and some are still being finalised for concert performances, publication and/or recordings in the future.

This is the one hundredth blog (according to the counter on the WordPress site) and I would like to thank everyone who has helped, read, liked, disliked, subscribed and supported during the expedition. I feel far more creative now than I have done for many years and it is by doing, by sitting down and writing or composing, that the inspiration arrives. Not all the thoughts and concepts are used as the critical mind then begins to work but ideas are formulating and new work is taking shape each day.

Blog again soon

© P.R.Birkby 2014

About derangeddrums

Composer, percussionist, musical director, teacher and educator. My music has been written for audiences in palaces and in the street. Music is my vocation and my passion and I hope you enjoy it too.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Music Composition and Performance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

