Online yet still so much offline


sellfy-logo

If I was to believe the majority of posts on my LinkedIn and Twitter feeds then online is everything. Full of strategies to use including how to form your tribe, the next ‘new’ approach for more customer interaction, more software to measure the effectiveness of… When I think as a business I am bombarded by these online messages but when I am a customer do I rely solely online? No, never.

There are so many stages of interaction to go through before the most important element in any relationship, the trust, is established. When I can see, then touch, play with and test something physical then I can quickly decide if it is what I require but online I only have images and descriptions to assist my choices. This advertising is created and written for the greatest effect and there may be endorsements from others at best or just a thumbs up at worst. How is the trust developed in this purely film environment when I have been brought up to watch, as Samuel Taylor Coleridge described, with a willing suspension of disbelief?

So why should I put my business online? For music publishing it means very little investment as the create -> copyright -> publish -> earn process has no manufacture, distribution and/or shipping stages. The purchasing process includes the download and the customer may print the material or may keep it in digital form on the hard drive or both, it is their choice. As a publisher who has spent years experimenting with different paper, card and binding systems to produce a quality product this loss of any control in how the physical product might be produced has been difficult to come to terms with.

The Ofcom Adult’s Media Use and Attitudes Report 2014 http://stakeholders.ofcom.org.uk/market-data-research/other/research-publications/adults/adults-media-lit-14/ shows growth in use and online activities from all demographic groups compared with the year before. Is this mainly for information or entertainment or will it be shopping? According to the Centre for Retail Research http://www.retailresearch.org/onlineretailing.phphttp://www.retailresearch.org/onlineretailing.php “E-commerce is [still] the fastest growing retail market in Europe” so I have set up my online presence and will keep you informed of the progress.

 Groove_Jogger_Page_01         Point Of NoR_Cover

 The first two items on the virtual shelves are a collection of over 100 groove styles from around the world with basic drum pattern and bass lines Groove Jogger for drums and bass and a solo recital work for four pedal timpani The Point Of No Return. Both available from my Sellfy store https://sellfy.com/prbpnews

I would welcome any comments about this new enterprise although I cannot see the worth of the thumbs up yet.

© P.R.Birkby 2015

About derangeddrums

Composer, percussionist, musical director, teacher and educator. My music has been written for audiences in palaces and in the street. Music is my vocation and my passion and I hope you enjoy it too.
This entry was posted in Music Composition and Performance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

