Present and past, new and old, now and then.


How to celebrate 37 years, and counting, of composing and publishing music? This is the question I have been pondering for a number of weeks and then everything became clear as I was editing some new compositions. The idea is simply a BOGO, BOGOF or to some BOGOHO approach and to fully explain the acronyms: BOGO and BOGOF are buy one get one free and BOGOHO is buy one get one half off.

The result of this concept is Percussion Now and Then. The plan is to produce a specially curated collection of music for percussion that couples brand new works with ones from the extensive prbp back catalogue. Each pair of works are chosen to be at a similar standard, have some similar instrumentation and are ordered with the capability of being performed as one work or as two individual works to fit your programming requirements.

There are now approaching five hundred works for percussion in the prbp catalogue with many of these are in collections such as Festive Music, Ten Xylophone Solos or Dance Suite No.3 to name a few.   The new works I am writing have a link to my music from decades gone by in that concepts and problems I experimented with then will have shaped and informed my current methods and practices of composing. I hope the ideas and obstacles I find now will enlighten me in the future as well.

My first offer in the collection is a pairing of the brand new Pencil Panorama with a work from Ten Quartets, my first book of percussion ensembles, Drum Parade both for percussion quartet. Both works feature the timpani and to match the resources of the two works a little more closely I have edited the timpani part of the Drum Parade and added an extra drum.

The product can be viewed at in an A4 format. As with many of my recent publications the music has been prepared with the option for onscreen use as well as printing.

The second offering in the collection will be two more quartets both inspired by rail journeys and available in the coming weeks with the third being two pieces for 12 percussionists of mixed abilities.

Thank you to everyone that took the time to comment on and like the anniversary and I have started planning for the 40th anniversary already. TBC, TBD and/or TBA in a future post.

© Peter R. Birkby 2016


About derangeddrums

Composer, percussionist, musical director, teacher and educator. My music has been written for audiences in palaces and in the street. Music is my vocation and my passion and I hope you enjoy it too.
This entry was posted in Music and Enterprise, Music Composition and Performance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s